A Day in Naarden

 

 

June 2007: the final day of the Foto Tentoonstelling in Naarden. The whole city (actually, a glorified village) turns itself into a month-long photo exhibition. The town itself is a medieval fortified city shaped like a star with a moat around the wall. There are small venues all around the town, with even a few displays on (and in!) the town walls themselves. Some displays were quite successful, others were a little self-aware and modern-art-I’m-trying-to-make-a-statement-here. But it’s a lovely place and we had a terrific afternoon wandering around.

Stadhuis Naarden

Stadhuis Naarden

Painted ceiling of the Grote Kerk

Painted ceiling of the Grote Kerk

One of my favorite displays

One of my favorite displays

The town walls

The town walls

The town

The town

P1010976edit

"Geitjes!" exclaimed the little girl

“Geitjes!” (baby goats) exclaimed the little girl

A real geitje

A real geitje

Look at me!  I'm here!  Look at me!

Look at me! I’m here! Look at me!

P1010980edit

7 thoughts on “A Day in Naarden

  1. Lovely boat photo! I went to Naarden several years ago for the photo show. It was actually one of the first things D. and I did when we first met and I wasn’t even living here yet. It was a very impressive introduction to NL! Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beautiful photos! I was working during WWKIP day, but I brought my knitting with me just in case I had a chance to knit a few rows. My friend Johni, who works the counter for us, brought her knitting and was able to work most of the day while I threw pots. Your KIP photos in the park are so delightful. Well done!

    Like

  3. Beautiful photos—especially the boats! I missed KIP day this year; I hear there was quite a shindig in Seattle. I need to mark it on my calendar next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

